Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Adrenaline - Is it our friend?  (Read 4039 times)

plantlight

• pl -- for short
  • Trading Score: +73
  • Invisible Man in a Fluorescent Suit
Adrenaline - Is it our friend?
« on: September 23, 2016, 10:20:17 PM »

I hope you all find this story amusing as well as enlightening.  It's from a page in my own life and when I look back on it, I find it amusing but at the time it was frightening.  Now, i think of it as a possible explanation of how events may take a turn in an undesirable direction.

Many years ago, I took a Russian language course pre-recorded and self-taught.  I memorized all the dialogues and thought they were perfect for any situation.  I was really getting good at it, or so I thought.

To further my education, I thought I would look for some Russian videos with English subtitles.  I was in New York at the time and there is a very nice Russian bookstore called St. Petersburg books.  It is located in a section of town where many Russians have settled.  At the time, the Russian language was spoken very freely there but it seems as most Russians also spoke at least some English.

I walked into the bookstore and asked the clerk, in English,  if there were any videos with English subtitles.  She spoke English about as well as I spoke Russian, not very well, but we were able to communicate well enough that she could point me in the right direction. 

When I got to the videos, there was a young Russian woman bookstore customer there who noticed that I was trying to find some with English subtitles and she was able to help me even though she spoke no English.   After I selected a few, I saw some Russian Music CDs and started browsing, trying to find the Rock CDs.  This was a slow process as I was just learning Cyrillic.