Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Trichocereus scopulicola x pachanoi?  (Read 13179 times)

Blackvine

Trichocereus scopulicola x pachanoi?
« on: March 11, 2014, 06:34:42 AM »

I am totally new to the world of cacti, and browsing at some of my local nursery came across a couple of interesting specimens.

This photo's to follow are of a cactus marked as being a Trichocereus scopulicola, but I get the feeling it could be a T. scopulicola x T. pachanoi.

I say this because the areoles are not sunken in like many specimens of T. scopulicola I have seen online and also that spines are indeed present, although small enough to run ones hand over them.

This cactusis also very slightly glaucous, really depending on the light in which it is viewed, which I don't believe T. scopulicola is meant to be so. There is six ribs, from bottom to top.

The ribs come together evenly and uniformly at the very top, another apparent classic sign of a T. scopulicola.

The skin is smooth but not so smooth that it is at all glossy, rubbery or 'squeeky' (does this make sense?). If I pinch the ribs, it does not feel too fleshy beneath the surface.

There is one small scar (not pictured) where it has perhaps been blown over in the wind at some point, and also some other strange lumpy markings which I will point out further down this thread.

I asked how old it was, but the nursery staff did not know and said 'perhaps six years'.

Slightly glaucous depending on the light:

Notice how evenly the ribs form together at the crown/crest/top of the cactus.
Is there a word for this part of a torch-style cactus?

Notice the strange lumpiness (under?) of the skin here:
Does anybody recognise this as being a symptom of an underlying problem?

Closeup of areoles:

Base: thinking about repotting into a bigger, heavier terracotta pot