Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Tissue culture starter kits  (Read 2412 times)

Midnight2012

Tissue culture starter kits
« on: June 29, 2020, 05:46:27 PM »

Hi, I am just starting to get into plant tissue culture, and am new to this site- which by the way seems awesome.  I am a human and mouse tissue culture PhD by trade, so I thought with my love of succulents, this would be a logical next step. I am most interested in Lophophora, and also some Trichocereus and various lithops.

I was thinking of starting with a kit just to figure out the flow of the protocol without any kinks.

I found this one, and I was wondering if anyone has used this and had succes with it?

On the other hand, I was thinking about starting from scratch and making my own murashige and skoog medium and going from there.  Especially since I have daily access to an autoclave and tissue culture hood. Any thoughts?

ONandONandON

• Trading Score: +76
  • Looking 4 Supercalifragilistic Expialidocious Spp.
Re: Tissue culture starter kits
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2020, 09:06:35 PM »

the last sentence, " Leads into full TC kit." should say, "must buy a second more expensive kit"
i personally just don't trust kits.. they sometimes only supply minimum information and supplies.
that's cool a PhD in animal tissue cultue.. i'd think you already have all the procedure know-how..
there are guides online that go threw the basic steps. For pdfs google.. filetype:pdf tissue culture
i'd recommend buying premixed MS-medium (i bought from ebay) and plant hormones, and agar,
then you'd have plenty of materials to work with, instead of just a few premade rootings cups.
i plan to start some more culture bottles soon. hope you will share your experiments with us :)

« Last Edit: June 29, 2020, 09:10:05 PM by ONandONandON »
we all come from the garden and to it we shall return

Shamichael

• Trading Score: +50