Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Question about growing cacti(Loph and Peruvian Torch) in temperate climate.  (Read 3201 times)

app5774e

Hello,
I am relatively new at growing cacti and live in the southeastern US.  Our fall usually occurs in late October,early November, and by then it starts to get noticeably cold outside. I am trying to avoid using grow lights during late fall and winter. If I put my cacti in front of a window with good light, will that be good enough until spring? If I do need grow lights, is there a setup that doesn't require hanging lights? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
« Last Edit: September 04, 2019, 06:03:32 AM by app5774e »

Frog Pajamas

• Global Moderator
  • Trading Score: +576
  • Zone 7A
Re: Question about growing cacti(Loph and Peruvian Torch) in temperate climate.
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2019, 12:52:41 PM »

Hi,

Even better- you want to put your cacti dormant during winter when you bring them inside. Growing them under lights or near a window will result in etoliation. Instead, try to move them somewhere where they won't get water for the last bit outside, maybe towards the mid or late September, then move them to a cool, dry location for the winter. They'll just hang out fine until Spring, when you bring them back out for active growing.

I actually don't have a spot to move mine outdoors under cover before moving them in, so mine just sit in the elements until it's getting to the 40's at night and then get hauled into the basement. In previous houses they've been in my kitchen, bedroom, all over the house pretty much lol, but a basement or garage is ideal since they're cooler than a heated house.

Peace,
Frog

Frog Pajamas

• Global Moderator
  • Zone 7A
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2019, 12:54:15 PM »