Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Growing Trametes and Ganoderma  (Read 8647 times)

oplopanax

• Trading Score: +139
Growing Trametes and Ganoderma
« on: December 23, 2014, 07:34:56 AM »

Hey y'all-
I work as a wildcrafter for some medicinal herb companies, harvesting and shipping fresh herbs. I have been getting lots of orders for Ganoderma tsugae/oregonense and for Trametes verisicolor (sp?).

I am starting to think that Ganoderma tsugae is actually an annual mushroom, or something like that. Whereas Ganoderma applanatum (Artist's Conk) clearly grows for years, getting bigger and bigger without decaying, a lot of the other Ganodermas that I find are mushy/rotten. Does anyone know if this is true, they only grow for a year or a season or...?
Anyway, I have decided to plug logs of both Ganoderma and Trametes. I hear that Trametes are so easy to grow, but if anyone has any tricks or tips I would love to hear them, and I will let y'all know how things go for me.
~o
No living organism should be illegal.

AcaciaAve

• West Coast Zone 8b
  • Trading Score: +166
Re: Growing Trametes and Ganoderma
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2014, 08:27:32 AM »

Mushrooms exhibit so many growth forms especially with ganoderma, would not know how to help you.
I do know exactly what you're talking about, I always assumed they were the same species in different stages of growth. Biggest I've seen was on the Olympic peninsula near mt Olympus  fall of 2013.
Grow Phalaris grass
Climb Acacia Trees

happyconcacti

• Administrator
  • Trading Score: +330
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2014, 04:14:17 PM »

From what I've heard about Trametes in the PNW, they take over quite easily. Often times when Shiitake logs fail, trametes versicolor is the mushroom that takes over.

What kind of wood are you going to use?

Hcc

oplopanax

« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2014, 01:10:21 AM »