Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Trichocereus Bridgesii, Pachanoi, Peruvianus, and Macrogonus ID - need help  (Read 15582 times)

plantlight

• pl -- for short
  • Trading Score: +73
  • Invisible Man in a Fluorescent Suit

Hey Cacti folks,
Please help me with some plant ID.  I’m new to cacti and trying to get started with a few nice specimens of Trichocereus  bridgesii, pachanoi, and peruvianus .   I started by ordering a sampling from a few different sources.  My goal was to obtain identified plants to study and thereby learn the differences.

I have read through some of the discussion on this forum and both The Nook and The Corroboree but still have some questions that I am attempting to simplify.  For one, I’ve learned that reclassing the genus Trichocereus to the genus Echinopsis is not accepted by all and it appears from my reading that most collectors prefer Trichocereus.  Therefore, I’ll stick with the more familiar Trichocereus names.   

Below I’ve copied extracts from Wikipedia describing different species of the genus Echinopsis for reference.  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Echinopsis I’ve labeled each description with the Trichocereus species name followed by the Echinopsis species name in parenthesis.   No need to read through them now as my next post summarizes the particulars that I’d like to discuss.

Bridgesii (langeniformis)
The plant has a light green to bluish color and usually has four to eight ribs. It can grow 2–5 m tall with stems of up to 15–20 cm in diameter. Spines can range in coloration from honey-coloured to brown, and are located on the nodes in groups of up to four. These spines can grow up to 6–7 cm in length and in fully grown plants are spaced evenly on the ribs, 2.5 to 3 cm apart.

Pachanoi (pachenoi)