Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Soil Mix for Bridgesii  (Read 7303 times)

JMZ

• Trading Score: +149
Soil Mix for Bridgesii
« on: April 23, 2016, 09:51:06 PM »

Just looking for some suggestions for a good cactus mix. I live in the southeast, so cacti are foreign to me My bridgesii seem to develop rot, but my other trichs don't. I placed them under the eave of the house out of the rain. I'm thinking less water and a better mix should do the trich. In the past I used Fafard #3 (70%) some sand and small rocks (20%) and usually some kind of organic matter (10%) from a big box store. Lately I've been going heavier on the sand and rocks.
Kratom is my fountain of youth.

plantlight

• pl -- for short
  • Trading Score: +73
  • Invisible Man in a Fluorescent Suit
Re: Soil Mix for Bridgesii
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2016, 10:56:05 PM »

Can hardly wait to hear the answer myself.  I'm a novice at cacti so I don't know what to say for sure but I create my own soil mixes and I love to read soil mix theories.  ???
"Nature is the great visible engine of creativity, against which all other creative efforts are measured.” - T. McKenna

MadPlanter

• Global Moderator
  • Trading Score: +929
  • Tye dyed spirit
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2016, 11:19:03 PM »

I get issues with bridgesii rot as well. Many types I grow don't have issues such as TBMs, Antonino, KK, and SS. But all the others I've received have such a hard time. At least most still live but I lost Sherman. I liked that clone too.

My mix is half a rich but sandy potting soil plus half added sand and a ton of extra perlite. Works great for everything including starting seeds but those few bridgesii just hate it. It is rather thick and in general gets dense over time but Pedro's and such love it. Idk...
Spreading love!

Psylocke

• Curandero
  • Trading Score: +56
  • Howdy Y'all
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2016, 03:02:45 AM »