Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Greetings from New Zealand  (Read 4553 times)

Biophilic

Greetings from New Zealand
« on: March 16, 2014, 06:10:30 AM »

Hello all!

Just wanted to say this looks like a great site. Im very new to gardening - my experience is limited to propogation of a few salvia cuttings I recently bought online (so far so good!).

Are there any other Kiwis on these forums? If so, I'd love to hear from you.

Hopefully this is the beginning of a long stay here, I look forward to future discussions!

Bio~

New Wisdom

• Professional Cactus Hoarder
  • Global Moderator
  • Trading Score: +223
  • Zone 6B
Re: Greetings from New Zealand
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2014, 07:43:10 AM »

Hello Biophilic.  Welcome to STS. 

What I do with salvia cuttings is to put them in a plastic disposable cup with washed sand in it. I bury the stem about 1-2" and then get the sand wet, but you don't want any puddles.  Then I Put a plastic bag over the top to create a humidity dome. Then I stick them near my light, but not directly under it.  Every cutting i've done this to rooted very easily.
Cactus = Life

isaak

• Trading Score: +60
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2014, 10:57:31 AM »

Hey Biophilic, welcome to STS! It's great to have a New Zealander on-board and expand the geographic reach of our family ;) Enjoy your stay!
The more I talk to birds, the better I get.

Biophilic

« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2014, 02:10:29 AM »

New wisdom:

Thanks for those tips - I currently have a small but well established plant and a cutting which has just started to grow roots sitting in a small cup of plain water. Next cutting I take I will definitely try your method and perhaps attempt to grow the plant entirely inside a humidity chamber (A small tent perhaps) after it has rooted.

Isaak: