Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Advice from experienced ginger growers?  (Read 3799 times)

Skink

• Trading Score: +30
  • Amateur herpetologist
Advice from experienced ginger growers?
« on: November 16, 2016, 11:22:20 PM »

Yeah so I'll admit, I'm a total noob when it comes to growing gingers. I just tore mine up since it's finally gotten cold where I live and the plants were starting to wither. When I pulled up my culinary ginger rhizome and disconnected the stalk, the rhizome was much smaller than it was when I planted it. The turmeric was about the same. I'm sure that's just because it poses some mass from sending up shoots (it was in the process of sending up another one before it got too cold) but did i do the right thing? If I had more room I'd have just brought the whole pot inside and let them keep growing but its just not feasible right now. So instead I let the rhizome sit out to dry for a couple days and have stored them in my garage in some dry peat for the winter. They've already experienced one frost but they still seemed alive, so should I have left them in the ground until all the leaves and stalks died off or what? I've already tried to research this myself and I can't find anything but contradicting info on the subject so I'm trying to get some expert advice. XD
I'm lonesome when you're around. I'm never lonesome when I'm by myself...

Mangrove

• Li'l Lorax
  • Trading Score: +191
  • We're all here because we're not all there.
Re: Advice from experienced ginger growers?
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2016, 01:07:57 AM »

How to propagate ginger:

Pluck entire stem with root/rhizome stock intact

Take that cutting and put it in a pot of moist, nutrient rich soil akin to soil parent was found growing in

Water and wait a few weeks or months

BAM! Ginger===propagated