Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: How to deal with pests and fungi - a simple solution  (Read 3059 times)

Jansch42

• Passionate shamanic herb grower since 2011
How to deal with pests and fungi - a simple solution
« on: January 03, 2019, 07:40:32 PM »

Hej seeders!  ;)

As many of us gardeners have to deal with pests and other factors that could ruin our wonderful growings, there are many "life hacks" out there to prevent these.
I thought I would try some out and give you guys my results to help all of us having a good year without any troubles.

Background information:
I have been growing my own plants since 2011.
I currently live in the UK where (surprise!) It actually doesn't rain as much as you might think.
In fact, I have found the climate here to be very good to grow my plants. Especially my yucca palm trees love it here.
I work in the garden 7 days per week to prevent any pests as I don't want to use any chemicals.

The test:

Coffee to prevent pests

How it works:
After making yourself a good cup of coffee, take out the filter of your coffee machine. The wet Powder that's left in it can now be mixed into the soil around your plants.

My experience:

Even though I was very skeptical about this one in the beginning, I have actually found it to be very useful for outdoor gardening.
It helped me to keep snails and other animals away from my plants as the enzymes in the coffee spread throughout the surrounding soil. This prevents snails and other animals who get to the plants by trough/on the ground to go there as the caffeine left in the coffee is dangerous for them, which keeps them away.
Be careful though! For some reason the plants in my greenhouse did not like the coffee at all and i actually had to move them to a place where there was fresh soil. This might have something to do with the rain or temperature, but I would not risk it.

Cinnamon against fungi