Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Intro from Central Texas  (Read 2653 times)

reosed

Intro from Central Texas
« on: June 24, 2018, 06:42:43 PM »

Hello,

I'm just getting into cultivation and gardening.  For the last 5 years, I've been reading and watching TED Talks about permaculture, food forests, aquaponics, and general gardening.  I've built 4 55-gallon planters over the last 5 years and plan to build some more for my elderly father.  He loves his garden and the garden barrels!

I normally don't post on boards but seems this one will be a board that can help with more than just knowledge.  I'm looking to transform the green belt behind my house into a permaculture food forest enthogenic  garden of sorts.  This green belt is great because it's a city owned water shed for about 5 different subdivision.  This means a few things:
  • Hardly anyone goes back there (Kids exploring, Teenagers smoking pot and drinking, and Adults that are exercising.)
  • It gets watered well when it rains
  • It's not my property!
  • It's easy to access
  • It's not trespassing during "park hours"
  • None of the plants I'm going to grow will be noticed as odd. (I don't think cactus will survive the kids and teenagers so I'm skipping them.
  • It won't be bulldozed for a very long time.  I'll likely be dead before then.

Plants I'd like to grow:
  • Desmanthus Leptolobus & Illinoensis (I think this already grows in the greenbelt, I just need to see seeds and flowers to make an ID)
  • Mimosa Hostilis (Might not like my zone)
  • Banisteria Caapi (Might not like my zone)
  • Comfrey (Chop and Drop fertilizer)
  • Acacia Acuminata narrow phyllode
  • Acacia Simplicifolia (Might not like my zone)
  • Borage (Companion Plant, not sure if it will help these plants but I doubt it hurts them.  Goes well with peach trees.)
  • Syrian Rue
  • Many plants that would be found in a food forest