Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: B. Vulcanicola questions  (Read 2755 times)

PinkTarantula

B. Vulcanicola questions
« on: April 29, 2018, 04:40:20 PM »

I managed to get my hands on a nice and healthy B. Vulcanicola. It’s about one foot tall give or take a couple inches. I have no prior experience with any Brugmansia and I understand this one to be a bit more temperamental as a “cold” species. I’m in zone 7b. The seller, although friendly and professional, didn’t seem to be very knowledgeable about care so I figured i’d check here. I’d love to be able to send out free cuttings this year or next.  I normally grow 100% organic but I’m not as adamant on a plant I don’t plan to invest. So I’ll do what’s best for the plant so long as it’s not overly harsh chems and the like. Thanks!

Toxicodendron

• Trading Score: +88
Re: B. Vulcanicola questions
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2018, 09:03:59 PM »

Congrats on the score!

While I have not grown one myself, I talked to a grower a few years ago who had one. His was in a shaded greenhouse in zone 7 or so. Shade cloth & on the end of a greenhouse that had a deciduous tree growing over the top of it. His was pretty stressed when I saw it. I think even in a shaded greenhouse next to an exhast blower and a mister it was too hot.

:-\

Bach

• Chacruna whisperer
  • Global Moderator
  • Trading Score: +406
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2018, 11:26:28 PM »

I was able to maintain one for for about a year when I lived in California and then perhaps another two years when I moved to Florida.