Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: On the hunt for fellow plant freaks  (Read 3069 times)

Papaver

On the hunt for fellow plant freaks
« on: January 29, 2018, 12:10:19 PM »

Seedians,

I am a resident in the department of pediatric oncology at a local teaching hospital in the north-central FL region (USDA zone 9a), with a passion for growing plants with medical, edible, enlightening, aesthetically-pleasing, or otherwise awesome properties.

My recently-revived love of gardening, conducting plant research, foraging, spending entire days lost in the wilderness of local nature preserves, etc. pales only with respect to my love of treating children afflicted with (oftentimes terminal) cancers, tirelessly working 80 hour weeks on the ward, doing all and everything I can to serve these poor cancerous patients. If it were not for me finding love in growing, researching, and caring for plants, my listless corpse would have been found dangling from the rafters of my medical school's lecture hall years ago.

Over the past couple months, things had gone from rough to me drafting a novella of elaborate suicide methods, complete with a series of algorithms for deciding which one would be the right one for me under varying circumstances during my lunch breaks. The six figures' worth of debt I have accrued throughout my time in medical school, sleeping every second or third afternoon for the past year, a stack of overdue bills the size of my copy of Kant's Critique of Pure Reason and growing to the size of my copy of Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged (Who Is John Galt, anyways?), topped-off by the grief of regularly finding dozens of plants--most of whom I had germinated from seed and/or cutting myself--dead on a regular basis upon returning home from yet another 2 or 3 day long shift which I had forgotten to tend to the last time I returned home from my prior 2 or 3 day long shifts.