Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Do i need more drainage for my caapi plants?  (Read 2703 times)

Kaktus

Do i need more drainage for my caapi plants?
« on: January 15, 2018, 08:01:21 PM »

Greetings all of you! So i am extremely new to growing plants, i grew 4 pepper plants last summer but this is the first time ive gone beyond that and everhthing is currently inside by a window because it gets too cold still some days out side. Right now i have mostly caapi and cactus but one psychotria viridis as well.

What im primarily concerned with right now is that i havent been adding enough materials for proper drainage in any of my plants, i added a lot of perlite to the soil of all my cactuses with higher concentrations at the bottom of the pot but overall a 33/33/33 mix perlite sand and compost, and im wondering if i should be adding perlite or pumice to my caapi plants as well? Right now they reside inside of a mix of 50% compost/50% sphagum moss in the case of psychotria viridis and my 2 bigger caapi cuttings, but the small ones are about 70% compost/20% sphagum and 10% sand. I believe the small ones were grown from seed as opposed to being cuttings if it makes a difference.

The only caapi plant that ive seen actually grow is a baby cielo vine that is in the 70/20/10 mix, the other two baby vines i got at the same time and they have not changed at all both with some leaves that are yellowish and ranging to droopy, ive had them maybe a month i repotted them into this mix 2 weeks ago from what looked like a mix of bark and garden soil, theyre roots filled up the whole previous pots and seemed healthy when i was moving them out but they have yet to grow new leaves as the cielo has. The other caapi plants came in just last week im hoping they will perk up soon.