Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Terrarium/Vivarium/Paludarium  (Read 9905 times)

XDX

• Trading Score: +72
Terrarium/Vivarium/Paludarium
« on: January 19, 2015, 04:03:46 AM »

I am Workin on a semi-advanced, rather-niche, slightly- obsessive project. I think this is the best place to post about it.

I am looking for suggestions and advice for plants+ to add to my 55 gal Paludarium project.
A paludarium is a terrarium with land and water parts. And a vivarium is a terrarium with both living plants and animals.
So I've been setting up this tank for like 4-5 months, adding features and plants and such, making sure everything's fairly stable. It's a 55gal I believe, 3ft wide x 2 tall x 1 deep; theres 2 waterfalls, a small "pond" or "stream", bout 2-6in of soil in different spots (most stays fairly wet, but there's water pumps that keep everything moving, and lots of cork board on the glass mount more epiphytes. It stays between 68-72F, 80-90+% humidity, pretty high light (but with shaded spots) on 12hr cycle.
Most terrarium enthusiasts have this small, basic list consisting of ferns, moss, pathos-like vines n ground-cover, plus bromiliads, and then orchids. I like moss, it's cool, bromiliads are cool, orchids are really cool a whole subject on their own, but aside from that, I'm mostly underwhelmed.